Everything between · Recipes · Uncategorized

Creamy Tomato Soup

So I’ve been feeling for this soup for about 3 days so naturally when the weather was looking super  misty I had grabbed full advantage and made a SOUP!

My husband (lets call him Pudding for now) usually does NOT fancy tomato soup so of course I’ve made him Creamy Mushroom Soup instead since it’s his favourite, I’ll be sure to post the recipe at a later stage. Regardless of how adorable I was, he still had my tomato soup and I’m proud to say that his enjoyed it which is why I’ve decided to share it with you.

Should you decide to make it, let me know what you think!

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Makes:

About 4 servings

Ingredients:

6 medium tomatoes

1/4 large sweet potato

1 medium onion

1 medium carrot

1 cup chicken flavoured stock

1 tbsp. garlic

1 tbsp. mixed herbs

1 tsp fresh thyme (off the stem)

2 tbsp. tomato paste

1 1/2 tbsp. sugar

1/2 bottle Orley Whipp or imitation cream (125ml)

additional water

salt and pepper to taste

Method:

  1. Roughly chop all veggies, peels and all (that’s where a lot of nutrients are) and place into pot on medium heat for 10 minutes.
  2. Pour in stock along with water until all veggies are just covered and add remaining ingredients excluding cream and let simmer until the potato and carrot fall apart.
  3.  Remove from heat and blend with blender or stick blender, I’ve used my stick simply because it’s more convenient.
  4. Place back onto the stove and simmer for an additional 5 minutes then turn off and serve with cream and toasted bread such as Sourdough or like I’ve used, Rye rubbed with garlic.

ENJOY!

 

3 thoughts on “Creamy Tomato Soup

Leave a Reply

